WIDE WEDNESDAY - A BODY OF WATER

I had already taken a couple of wide shots before I looked at the theme - typical of me - but then when I saw the theme for today, I did think of taking a shot of myself in the shower, but decided that would probably be a step too far - a body in water - and it would probably get censored anyway!!

Shaftesbury Lake is a beautiful lake only five minutes away from where we live, so as Mr. HCB was busy in the garden and greenhouse, I decided to take myself off down there.  I couldn’t resist taking a shot of the Union Jack and the Ukrainian flag, both flying from a flagpole just before I got to the lake, which was great to see and you can see that and other shots in my extra collage.

Then I saw a gaggle of Canada Geese and lots of young goslings - the parents were very protective and got rather agitated when I got too near, so I had to keep my distance.  A bit further along I saw a Greylag Goose, which sat beautifully and let me take a photograph and was still in the same position when I walked back.

The lake looked lovely this morning, with sunshine and blue skies and just a light breeze rustling the leaves on the trees.  I took several shots and as I stood there, several swans, mallards and Canada geese swam towards me and I rather liked the fact that they were interested enough to come near, so this is my main shot.

As I was taking the shots, I spoke to a young lady - whose name I later found out was Rhianan - who told me she was from the Oak & Furrows Wildlife Rescue Centre, which is an independent Branch of the National RSPCA based at Blake Hill, near Cricklade.  She was obviously making notes as she walked, so when she told me why she was doing that, I told her about the Canada Geese goslings just a bit further along and we had a lovely chat (its a good job I enjoy talking!).  

We talked about the Rescue Centre, close to a nature reserve, which Mr. HCB and I have visited several times and she then told me that she was doing a “recce” for a Wildlife Discovery Day that was being held on Saturday, 28th May, so that families could learn more about the wildlife living at Shaftesbury Lake.  It runs from 10 o’clock until 2 o’clock and anyone in the community and from beyond is welcome to join in.  Apparently, there will be lots of activities for children, hence her wandering around and looking.  

A group called “Friends of Shaftesbury Lake” have put in a lot of work all around the lake, clearing areas and planting flower beds and they have also scattered wild flower seeds in different places.  There is also a herb bed, which encourages people to “pick but not pull” any herbs and they often have days where people can go and help.  What a great way to interact with the community around.

On my way home, and I did stop to chat to several more people, I saw a swan sitting on its nest - and this is also in my extra collage - I have looked up the difference between a male, known as a cob and a female known as a pen, but can’t tell whether this was one or the other - not that it matters.  At one point, the swan stood up and rearranged itself - and then I could see a tiny cygnet, along with nine other eggs, waiting to hatch.  Around the nest, is a barrier of logs and twigs - which is good, because often people and dogs destroy nests and eggs - for no good reason - so although it won’t keep them out, it does make a barrier and it’s harder to reach the nest.

What a beautiful morning - and to finish, I saw the beautiful May blossom, also in my extra collage, which reminded me of a song we used to sing at Infant School many, many years ago - I can even remember the words. 

“Sing a song of Maytime, sing a song of Spring;
Flowers are in their beauty, birds are on the wing.
Maytime, playtime, God has given us Maytime,
Thank him for his gifts of love, sing a song of Spring.”
Frederick Jackson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.