TINY TUESDAY - BUT NOT THE RIGHT THEME!

You can “take your pick” for which part of this beautiful Aquilegia is tiny from the stamens to the spurs to the tiny hairs on the flowers and stem.

This Aquilegia McKana Giant was grown from seed by Mr. HCB along with several others and they are really beautiful.  He planted them in a bed at the far end of the garden along with Buddleias grown from cuttings, Hollyhocks and Lupins grown from seed and they are all doing very well, so will be ready to put into the main border for next year.  He definitely has “green fingers” as we say or a “green thumb” as our American friends say.  Of course, you all know that in the summer months, I am Numero Tre - behind cricket as Numero Uno and the garden as Numero Due - but if you add in the greenhouse, where he spends a lot of time pottering on wet days, then I am relegated to Numero quattro!

However, I am delighted that he is always so enthusiastic about the garden and often tells me what new flowers are blooming.  The little Iris in the pond is just about bursting out of the bud, but this is not quite as spectacular as the one in the holding bed.  

Just to update you, the woollen dryer balls I mentioned in my Blip on the 7th May do a very good job and certainly lessen the time the tumble dryer needs to be on - this is my one little indulgence, so please don’t judge me - I’m sure you have one too!  

“Don’t wait for someone 
     to bring you flowers - 
          plant your own garden and
               decorate your own soul.”
Luther Burbank

Or alternatively, get yourself a Mr. HCB and he will do the hard work for you!

P.S.  I forgot to say we have some tiny apples on our Braeburn tree - perhaps I will save them until they get slightly larger, but see extra - very exciting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.