100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 36

I was still awake at 1 o’clock this morning, trying to finish my library book, ready to take it back today and collect another one but after putting my book down, try as I might, sleep just would not come.

Rather than toss and turn and perhaps wake Mr. HCB, I decided to go downstairs and take a shot for today’s Blip, which I knew would be better taken in the dark anyway.  We have a video doorbell and there are four blue lights on the console in the hall, so using my SlowShutter app set on Light Trails, I took several shots.  

This abstract is SOOC and all I have done is put a frame round it and signed it.  I’m quite happy with the result and it’s one more in my 100 Abstracts Challenge for the Mamie Martin Fund.

I thought it would be interesting to make things a bit more personal and tell you about one of the girls this Fund has helped:

MIRIAM - is the first born in a family of four;  her father is assistant to a plumber.  She was so excited when she was selected to go a national secondary school but she knew that her parents could not afford to send her and pay the ongoing costs.

However, with help from the Mamie Martin Fund, which assisted with school costs, transport and other necessities, Miriam is now at the University of Malawi - working for an NGO as a Monitoring and Evaluation Officer.  Obviously, completing secondary education changes lives for women in Malawi, their families and their communities.

Mr. HCB and I are pleased to be able to support this Fund, with thanks to HarlingDarling for sharing this on Blip a few weeks ago.

“We are healed to help others. 
     We are blessed to be a blessing. 
          We are saved to serve, 
               not to sit around and wait for heaven.” 
Rick Warren :  
The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.