Green Hairstreak!

Was NOT expecting to see one of these today!  Another hot and sunny day in Essex, so the plan was to go for a short stroll along the creek but in the opposite direction to where I normally go.  I know there's a path that heads towards Pitsea but it had always been overgrown or very muddy on other times I'd tried it! not today! Although part of the path was high with nettles and cow parsley!  Very thankful for wearing jeans today! But I made it along the path and just kept walking... you know when you tell yourself, I'll just go round this corner and see what's there?! . Well that kept happening and I found myself at the Bowers Marsh Nature reserve a couple of miles away!!  Very glad I have found it though and somewhere new to explore!

And on the walk back I was battling the nettles and cow parsley, when I looked down and spotted something green moving...  my first Green Hairstreak sighting!  Amazing how the sight of something new makes you forget how tired you were feeling!!  Very happy, and then I treated myself to a taxi back from Benfleet station to save my poor legs the hill walk!!

So the rest of the day has been very quiet and restful!  It's been a long day too as I was out in the street at 5.30 am putting the rubbish out! Stupid body clock LOL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.