Little Grebe

What was going to be a very quick walk round the Roukenglen pond turned out to be longer than I planned.

I spotted a guy taking photographs of a bird obviously sitting on a nest. My immediate thought was a coot or a moorhen Without my camera, which I have to use as binoculars, I wouldn't have recognised the very small grebe also known as a dabchick.

Not nearly as elegant as the Great Crested Grebe but instantly recognisable with the red cheek patches and white rather fluffy looking rear end. It readily dives when disturbed and you never know where it is going to resurface.

It looks as if there might be three or four eggs in the nest and if the chicks are as fast and illusive as the parents I don't expect that I will see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.