Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

An ex NAS drive

Not a great day. My workhorse mirrored network disk (NAS) drive died. I think the CPU board has failed. Having two copies of data is no longer a benefit in the one system. There is still a single point of failure.
NAS drives are a massively useful tool. Data is always available from anywhere. I use mine for storing all my photos and videos as well as the storage for security camera footage.
It’s designed to protect against a single disk failure but not for complete failure. Indeed, I replaced one of the drives 18 months ago without losing everything. Total loss could be a bit of a nightmare to recover from although, having been burned by disk failures many times before, most of my photos and videos are also stored on a myriad of portable drives and thankfully a copy of most data from the failed drive as well as my original drive backed up on a second huge NAS drive - so, I had three copies of everything with one copy intended to be stored at a different location. I know it’s a bit of overkill but I’ve seen people lose precious data by not keeping on top of storage. Am still two steps away from catastrophe. The security camera system is reconfigured.
The failed NAS was 75% full so an upgrade was on the horizon anyway but I could do without the slog of a rebuild.
Time to replan data storage strategy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.