Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sent a text at 6am to report ill health. Re-sent same message at 8am
Boss finally acknowledged message at 08:40 claiming to have been on the underground.
Nonsense! It's quicker to walk from Paddington to her destination
There really is no love lost between us.

Spanking day out! Sunshine and enough scenery to cause face rainbows.
At interview, before the third host was introduced, I thrust my hand forward and said “You must be . . .” which received a very happy smile in response
First interview question was “What do you know about us?”
Well this time I knew a great deal more because they aren't just a gang of twenty roofers in a shed on an industrial estate at the back end of an unremarkable city. And I'd already proven that I knew their names. I don't think I did too badly with the interview questions. I hope they weren't put off by my enthusiasm.
They wanted to know why I thought I was a good fit and I told them it was a natural progression from my previous happy job except for the fact that their property is not filled with waste material, that raised a chuckle and some “depends on your point of view” remarks.
They wanted to know what had attracted me to them and I told them I've thought of little else since seeing the job advertised in March. They may have shown surprise that I knew exactly how long I'd been waiting for this moment.
I was asked which was more important, accuracy or punctuality, to which I responded that inaccuracy is of no use to anyone no matter how punctual it is. I think that ticked a box.

I think I did OK. Perhaps another candidate did better, time will tell. I'll know within a week.

I got home and notified my letting agent that I will be out of here six months after moving in. My submission is four days late so I've back-dated it. She'll get shitty about that and probably keep my deposit, I hope that makes her happy and proud. Tomorrow my resignation will be received at work.

If I have to commit then I will accept the 20 roofers in a shed job tomorrow and then change my mind next week if I get a positive from today.

Extra: no point in burning bridges

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.