Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

When I was growing up our local ice-cream van used to play the theme tune from “The Third Man
Imagine my surprise when holidaying, to discover that other ice-cream vans played far more prosaic melodies.
Today I was outside in the sunshine checking locations of spill-kits when I heard the ice-cream van serving this neighbourhood. Joy! It plays the theme tune from “The Great Escape
Another “proper” tune that whisked me back to happier days but also said just what I was thinking.
The van in the photo is not currently serving the streets of Henley, it's a doer-upper in a back street between work and the supermarket, but it looks the part.

And then I received a call from the agent I've been speaking with since Thursday, and apparently yesterday's crowd really liked me and have offered me a job, so now I have to give that a very hard stare.

And about twenty minutes after that I received a call from a fourth party asking me if I am still looking. I explained my position and suggested he call again a week from now when I've got three interviews under my belt.

The result of getting these two calls made me feel quite faint, and I was able to let colleagues know that I wasn't feeling quite right, so that's all rather handy for tomorrow's sickie.

Naturally enough I am spending this evening preparing for tomorrow's interview (Oh god it's to DIE for), but I'm also re-evaluating my perception of yesterday with the benefit of knowing what they have said about me.

But no matter what happens, I can hand in my resignation on Friday, I think I am confident enough that that would be the best way to play this. Which would mean that my trip to France falls outside my contract of employment, I don't have to take those days as annual leave, I can be honest about Wednesday and exchange a sickie for a day's annual leave before submitting my weekly time-sheet, and I can probably make legitimate use of the six-month break clause on my Henley tenancy not to default on my contract (need to check that one, but not right now)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.