I had a plan

What I wanted to snap for Wide Wednesday IF possible was gert big articulated lorry going across New bridge transporting china clay from Chudleigh Knighton open face mine to Teignmouth docks. As I walked Indie i could her the clattering of of the lorries loading clay so after having coffee & cake with Mum I drove down and parked as close as I could to the bridge. As I was making my way through the undergrowth toward the beach upstream from the bridge I spotted something moving in the leaf mould in front of me .. Rat?...... No! A mole, a beautiful mole, totally oblivious to my being there, rummaging through the leafmold seeking out tasty morsels, obviously not looking, as they are blind, but the nose does a pretty good job. I stopped, video'ed it, waited for it to head off to the side then carried on my way. WOW! THAT made my day! Then I headed down onto the beach, got my feet soaked, but hey, it's only water, & waited. traffic lights have recently been installed to what was a blind horizon, what a difference it's made. The bridge is barely wide enough to take these lorries, but the alternative route would add miles/ kms if you're metric, I'm not, & so there is no weight restriction. New bridge was built  around 1845 & on a blind bend so before the traffic lights were installed you could be half way across before meeting another vehicle head on, then it was a case of who was going to give way & reverse back.
Walking back through the undergrowth to my car I spotted damselflies, butterflies, plus mallard duck & moorhen on the river Teign.
Next, 4 hours gardening with George & Jean just finishing up as the heavens opened.
I'd already been up on the plot planting out my broad beans plants & weeding before breakfast, so I was draished out by the time I got home.

Steaks for dinner tonight .................
Hubby - What steak is this?  I've got the wrong one have'nt I, yours is thicker than mine?"
Moi - " Ribeye, we've both got ribeye. Last time you told me your sirloin teak was tough so I bought two ribeye" "What's wrong with it?" 
Hubby - "It's too tender, it melts in the mouth" .................... He was lucky not to be wearing it after that conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.