Kipsie

By Kipsie

Rosa canina

Dog rose. First sighting today. A simple but beautiful form.
I walked up the allotment early morning with courgette plants, this mornings job. The Autumn planted onion sets are beginning to bolt so I made an executive decision, & lifted them. Laying them out on racking to dry in the sunshine. Dug over the ground, added some fresh compost, then planted the courgettes. Cloched them to protect from any critters, then created some more wire protection for the beetroot, carrots etc. Damn birds, they be tasty in a casserole. :-)
I met Stuart as I was going up Clifford Street, he had 2 Tumbler tomato plants for me. We often chat as we're both heading to the Coop but did'nt know his name until I enquired today. He asked for a copy of the courgette, orange, & walnut chutney recipe that I make.
Down to CK, walked Indie, many wild flowers appearing now the sun is shining so spoilt for choice.
A quick coffee & cinnamon Danish then we went plant shopping. Plants Galore was heaving with customers. They have a very good selection of bedding plants & hardy nursery stock. We purchased ferns, assorted herbaceous plants, plus blue Ageratum, & mixed Gazanias.
Back home at lunchtime. Hubby has been doing a spot of painting, the rather old picket fencing bordering the front garden has had a dark green stain treatment, but he couldn't get down to paint the bottom so a job for me. It needs weeding too, but I needed to prick out tomato seedlings, rather late so not sure if they will come to anything. Sowed runner bean, French climbing bean, nasturtium, plus mystery seed. I also had some seed pods of a little sweet pea collected on Burgh Island last year when away with the maids, so I made 4 pots. Fingers crossed they will germinate & I can give each of them a pot for their gardens.
I brought out the canna's, they should enjoy the sunshine. Still more to do but ran out of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.