Dusky Pink

Euan and his Daddy Rob walked me down to the train station first thing with a stop for a cuppa at the Yellow Submarine Cafe en route.  I had a lovely big cuddle and lots of kisses and I was off through the barrier, what a great few days.

The journey to Birmingham went smoothly but when I arrived at the platform for the Leeds train it all went a bit belly up as the train was delayed due to a signal failure.  There was limited information and the train after ours was suddenly cancelled.  After an hour or so I decided to see if I could go by another route and headed up to the main concourse when it was announced the fault was fixed and my original Glasgow train would arrive in twenty minutes.  I turned round and returned to the platform to receive a message on my phone that my train no longer stopped at Leeds!  There was no announcement about it so I looked at the display board and sure enough.....Back to the main concourse to a railway person who said if I was quick I could catch the Aberdeen train (the one which had been announced as cancelled and was now approaching the station??) so it was down to the next platform which was heaving with folks.  A few moments passed and the display said the train was delayed......Jeepers!  I was resigned to sitting in a vestibule for a couple of hours if the ghost train actually did arrive.  Thankfully it did and I triple checked it was stopping at Leeds and got on.  The train crew were banging on a toilet door asking if the occupant was going to Aberdeen as apparently some passengers thought it was the Plymouth train??  I was beginning to think I was in a parallel railway universe.  I asked the crew member if there was likely to be anywhere to sit and she took me through to the next carriage, which was almost empty......  I hadn't eaten or had a drink since the Yellow Submarine, and the catering did not come on board till Leeds so I was very glad of the peanut butter toast and cuppa Tony made for me when back home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.