Moja, mbili, tatu

1, 2, 3 in Kiswahili.

I’m going to have to crack on with Swahili as Tanzania is unlike its neighbour Kenya in that English has not remained a pivotal language throughout the country. The traffic was quite snared up on journeys to and from the office so driver Samwell taught me 1 to 5 in the morning on the way, and 6 to 10 on the return. Swahili seems quite simple phonetically, and I have been in contact with a potential teacher, Yusuf, recommended by a friend who was in Tanzania for his PhD. Yusuf has big shoes to fill after my Portuguese teacher, Ilídio. Yes, overall I think I’ll enjoy this Swahili lark.

I appear to have stopped biting my nails for the first time in forever, so something is going favourably in the deep recesses of my brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.