Sprout lover

By robharris35

Hauling

I spent a few hours scoping around gyms, potential apartment locations and decent places to loaf in cafés. It did not feel like what one would call a hardship.

I found a way onto the beach in the suburb of Mikocheni and walked in a northerly direction until I plopped into the district of Kawe Beach. I stumbled on a fantastic beachside restaurant-cum-bar called Mama Afrika, which I think is run by a Tanzanian musician. I ordered a dish which came served on a wooden platter in the shape of Africa. Marvellous.

In late afternoon I found somewhere to have a haircut, and the dude on duty was an interesting bloke from Lebanon. He was working in a salon two kilometres from the blast epicentre on the day of the Beirut port explosion. It sounded extremely traumatic.

He produced some sort of slicked back hairstyle that emphasises my hairline and makes me look like an egg. I suspect I won’t have too many options for haircuts so I may return, but he’ll be under strict instruction next time.

On the beach I came across several lines of men hauling boats onto shore, possibly fishers returning with their catches. Shortly after this I had to race and shelter under a tree as a heavy rainstorm howled and passed overhead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.