A Wash and Brush Up

H and I went for a lovely walk in Sheringham Park this morning, stopping at Weybourne station for refreshments. We spotted Little Blue having a 'wash and brush up'. The rhododendrons were looking at their best. I've added an extra of the blue tit chicks, I suspect this might be the last day all 10 are in the nest box. The largest chicks are nearly rid of bald patches and they've been doing plenty of preening, stretching of wings and legs and practising their wing flapping. I saw one hop up to the entrance and have a look out. All the chicks are interested in each other now, often inspecting each others beaks for bits of food, and also looking around the nest including up at the camera. Some are quite a bit smaller and I guess they'll be around for another few days. As they're around the whole box now, the parents often have to do an intricate entrance moving around the inside walls of the box to land. I'll miss watching them, it's a good job the French Open starts tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.