A day in the life

By Shelling

Incomprehensible

A friend of mine, Halima, who I've helped realising one of her dreams of recording a song and releasing it on Youtube, asked if I wanted to come to the library on the mainland, where she was going to perform at an Arabian book fair. I loved seeing her in her own culture, singing in Arabic, accompanied by the Oud, the Arabic lute. She performed with a self confidence I hadn't seen before and she got lots of bravos and applause. An uplifting evening. 
I also bought a childrens book for learning Arabic from scratch. I'm thrilled to see table after table with books laid out, where I don't understand a single thing, I even made the mistake of trying to open it in the wrong end, you have to open it from "the end" and "read backward" of course. I don't imagine ever learning Arabic, but there is a cd with the book so I hope I can at least follow along. If not, I can ask Halima.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.