The cattle are back

Cloven hooves in the mud told me they were back on the heath for the summer, but where were they. Laying down in the shade near the bottom gate, so we back tracked and detoured along another cut where I came across a plant I was totally unfamiliar with. I took some pics so that I could do an ident when I got home. I think it's Genista anglica, but will send an image to the Devon Wildlife Trust  to confirm as it's on area of heath that they manage.
The "wild" area that I'm creating along the outside wall is coming along nicely. This morning I scattered some wild flower seed that I collected on my walks last year plus added some clumps of Oxeye daisies. Then off to the plot.
I spent a couple of hours up on the plot this morning, the last row of canes, then I turned a piece of ground ready for another batch of broad bean plants. Something is eating my brassica's, & I don't think it's slugs, could be rats, so I surrounded the plants with dried lavender that I used last year on my sweetcorn plants. Fingers crossed it will work.
I walked Indie this morning, took down Mum's net curtains for her to wash, & me rehang when I returned from our walk. I had'nt thought about the windows needing a clean ................ Phew!! Mum has two huge lounge windows plus side windows,& top bits. Lounge, plus 2 bedroom window frames, & windows cleaned, I got the nets rehung just in time as I had to get back to Chudleigh for hubby to have his swab test at Newton Abbot Racecourse, before his operation this coming Wednesday. I nipped into Tesco's to pick up a case of beer for him as he is housebound until the op.
I've been working in the garden at home this afternoon.
I can smell dinner cooking .... Roast lamb, crushed roast potatoes with rosemary & garlic, & veggies. Well tiz Sunday. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.