Tank Engine

Our main excursion today was to Peak Rail, which runs near Bakewell. I thought of Tryfan46 and how he would have enjoyed the day! Neil was very interested in the locomotive which is apparently a Tank Engine. I didn't ask if it was called Thomas. I mostly enjoyed the nostalgia although the ride on the train through lovely scenery was pleasant too. I've included a few extra photos which may need to  be culled when I run out during our Germany trip.

We wanted to grab a bite to eat before setting off in the train. In the little café, the woman serving was deaf without her hearing aid, as she pointed out, and couldn't take our order unless we removed our masks. It was fine, she said: there was a plastic shield between her and us (although not between us and all the people in the queue, or all the exhaled aerosols potentially floating around). Her colleague studiously avoided looking at us - perhaps she was deaf too. I should have offered to write our order down but didn't think at the time so we ended up grabbing some nasty dry tarts and some drinks from the self-service section. I got the feeling that the woman thought our masks were quite unnecessary; we were after all the only ones wearing them.

I was far more upset by this than it warranted.

We hadn't eaten anything healthy at all so when we got back we got salad from the Co-op and had a rather nice dinner. And that was it for today!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.