West Highland Tour

A misty day made our tour through the west Highlands even more atmospheric.  We stopped at Loch Lomond, on the bonny banks, then a drive through Glencoe…haunting.  Onto Mallaig and lunch.  The Jacobite Express was ready to depart for Fort William so we raced it back to Glenfinnan to see it cross the famous Glenfinnan Viacuct.  Unfortunately, the steep climb to the top  was too much for me so Martin took my camera to record the event.  I saw it from much further away.  We walked across the road to the monument to the 1745 Jacobite rebellion where our driver played his bagpipes in tribute.  As we mad our way back to the car park, a beautiful deer venture out to regard us with wide eyes.  Then a brief stop at the old Drovers Inn, 1705, and then back to Glasgow.  Extras today are of the monument and adjacent Loch Sheil and a photo I took in 2005 when I road the Jacobite Expess from Ft. William to Mallaig on my first trip to Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.