A Day in Burns Country

I decided I needed a much slower paced day so we headed to Alloway, the birthplace of Robert Burns.  In 2020 I took a course through the Glasgow University on the life and work of Burns.  We visited the cottage where he was born, the fabulous museum and the Burns overlooking the river Doon with its humpback bridge, Brig a Doon.  There was an amazing wicker sculpture on the cottage grounds representing the rider in Tam O’Shanter.  Henry, of course, was delighted to be in the cottage of the man who wrote To A Mouse so we scrambled up on a wee table to recite it. He then piped Auld Lang Syne, not terribly well but he gave it all he had.  These are my wonderful hosts in Glasgow Katherine and Martin.  Off to the airport later this morning for my flight to Kirkwall on Orkney so the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.