Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Quaint

On the recommendation of Freuchie (yes), I got taken to Godstone today!

My initial reaction was, "I'm glad I went to Westerham first," but my friend said - "you haven't seen the best of Godstone yet." Found a parking bay - Godstone gives visitors 3 hours free parking - IMPRESSIVE, then a short walk past a man-made lake with very noisy geese brought us to the village church in which a funeral was in process so we didn't go in there, but we did have a good look around these amazing Alms Houses! WOW! Apart from the electric wires, you can't really tell what century this is.

See the carving on the walls. Took lots of pictures but sadly I can only show you one - and I think I've done too many collages recently.

As it was sunny (on and off), had a walk around the cemetery looking at some of the stones. The flowers, grass and trees were the most impressive things. In Dubai - cemeteries are really desolate places - often miles out of town in the middle of the desert with no landscaping at all.

Back home to try to catch up with blips etc and watch some TV but too tired to keep my head up! I did watch the very interesting program about Memory by Maureen Lipman.

PS. Bought a packet of Bombay Mix from the local store in Godstone. Bombay Mix made in the UK! I am assured it is the real thing. Yet to find out! Had a bit of craving for stuff from back home!

Saturday morning:
Have a great weekend everyone - the perfect start here - absolutely cloudless sky and no wind so I guess clouds won't be blown over!! [Can't believe I'm talking about the weather - yikes!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.