Pottery Class #4

Lady Linda stayed last night. We started the day with a 4½ mile walk so I could collect some cow parsley ready for my pottery class.

Mr W then dropped me at my class on the way to taking LL home.

Today we did Slab Building. This is where you roll out clay to a 5 or 6mm thickness and build something. We were taught how to wrap our clay round a card board tube to make a vessel of some sort. But I thought I'd push myself a bit today and attempt a lamp base!!! My tutor agreed and said "I think you can do it!" Great confidence boost. Time was tight but I did it!! My tutor loved the effect of my pressed flowers and went to grab her phone to take a picture to put on their Instagram page. Another great compliment!!

The amount of clay I used amounted to £11.90 which I don't think is too bad for a lamp base! Fingers crossed it survives the kiln!!

I really enjoyed today. Time flies and now have to wait 2 weeks for another class as its hand term next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.