earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Disapproval

This is the first black and white shot I've posted in a while, a sure sign that I haven't been on my photography. There were a few obviously drunk men who were kind of busking and making a huge racket on Briggate, possibly still celebrating yesterday's football result. These elegant young women were less than impressed.
 
Yesterday, Forrest and I drove out to Horton-in-Ribblesdale for a circuit taking in Penyghent. I peeled off after 3 miles, relieved to be able to lower the pace, letting him add an extra couple of miles over Plover Hill. If Hannah gets to read this, I apologise for not being able to post your photograph. I failed to put a memory card in the camera, another sign that I'm not on my photography at the moment. I always carry a spare but to my dismay it failed to be read. It was a terminal problem. I suddenly felt naked. 

From the top of Penyghent I took a route to Helwith Bridge along a path that was new to me but with all the messing about with the camera, Forrest caught me up on the track just before the village, allowing us to run the last couple of miles together. It was just under 11 miles for me, just over 13 for him. We sojourned to the pub for a quick pint, where I borrowed his iPhone to take a portrait of a fellow punter in the bar. There was much talk of whether it would be Leeds or Burnley going down. I feared the worst and wanted to avoid having to go out again once we got home.

I still don't think I've emotionally recovered from the miracle of yesterday. The end of the game, until Leeds scored yet another last gasp goal, was utterly horrible. I couldn't sit down. If my own stomach was in knots, I can't imagine what Roam must have been feeling. I've never been so invested in a game in my life. I'm not sure I ever want to be again. It's not healthy. Over the last couple of matches Leeds looked like a team that had lost self-belief, or believed that the footballing gods were thoroughly against them. They were playing desperate football. Even Roam had given survival away. It seemed clear that it wasn't meant to be.

But it was. Leeds have another year in the top flight. I think it's going to make a huge difference to the city. With both teams, Leeds and Burnley, there have been so many tiny moments that would have caused things to go the other way. I feel for the supporters across the other side of the Pennines. It's cruel. But it's also kind of beautiful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.