Not Long Ago, In A Classroom Not Too Far Away

On This Day In History
1961: J.F.K. asks Congress to support the space programme

Quote Of The Day
"For the eyes of the world now look into space, to the Moon, and to the planets beyond. And we have vowed that we shall not see it governed by a hostile flag of conquest, but by a banner of freedom and peace."
(John F. Kennedy)

Bonus On This Day In History
1977: Star Wars opens in cinemas

Now that Elon Musk has kicked the space programme into hyperdrive, perhaps we are on our way once more to establishing a galaxy wide Republic. Hopefully not an Empire.

Like last year, I commemorated this day with a Star Wars tie, tie pin and face mask.

Ex Luna Scientia  

Addendum
After posting this, I read about the dreadful school shooting in Texas. The fact that I have eighteen children in my class, one less than the number of children who were killed, and that the children are of the same age really bought home to me the horror of this incident, as well as how much the children in my class mean to me. I almost feel as if they were the ones who were gunned down.

Feeling heartbroken, desperately tired and just about ready to give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.