The Rescuers

On This Day In History
1940: Operation Dynamo gets underway

Quote Of The Day
"... and even if, which I do not for a moment believe, this island or a large part of it were subjagated and starving, then our Empire beyond the seas, armed and guarded by the British fleet, would carry on the struggle, until, in God's time, the New World, with all its power and might, steps forth to the rescue and liberation of the old."
(Winston Churchill)

I left work yesterday in a dark mood, angry at many of the children in my class and angry at myself for losing my temper. Foolishly, I travelled home planning ways in which to punish them apply approprite consequences to their transgressions. However, an even darker event served to teach me the error in my "logic."

The dark event was learning of the massacre at the school in Texas. All such mass shootings are tragic, but this one seemed particularly heart wrenching to me as the age and number of the children involved was almost exactly the same as the age and number of children in my class. It almost felt as if the shooting had happened in my classroom. Then it struck me how dreadful it would be if my yelling at the children were the last thing I ever did. Suddenly, all thought of sanctions were erased from my mind. Instead, I decided that I would tell them exactly what I had planned to do to them (which was to take away their Chromebooks for the entire day) and to tell them exactly why I had decided not to. I apologised for losing my temper and for saying a few things that I certainly did not mean - everybody says things they don't mean when they lose their temper - and used that as a lesson for why they too should always use kind words and actions, as nobody ever knows when those could be the last words and actions they will have with a person. A gentle reminder of what they had done wrong and a gentle promise to try not to do it again proved far more effective than further punishment, I'm sure.

Another thing which I did that I believe to have been effective was to focus not on the bad aspect of the lesson, but on the positive. They had written and performed short dramas to teach the rest of the class about significant people from the Islamic Golden Age. The photo is of a time machine that one group made to go back and visit Fatima-al-Fihri, the founder of the world's first university. Another time travel drama involved travelling back to meet Merriam al Astrulabi. We also met Al-Jazari buidling a water clock, Ibn-al Haytham teaching an astronomy lesson, Abbas Ibn Furnas receiving singing lessons from Abul Hassan. Finally, another group explained about the superhero comic they planned to publish featuring Abul Hassan who becomes the amazing Ziryab, with amazing skills as a musician, chef, make-up artist, fashion designer and astronomer. 

Honestly, the creativity and endevour of these children is a wonder to behold. Any guidance I give them with my teaching is always reciprocated.

Children

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.