I'd booked myself on a walk today, and I went even though it would've been better not to, since today was designated a rest day after yesterday's c25k session. 

It was just short of 12 miles and halfway through I began to find it really hard. I don't usually struggle with that distance, I can definitely put it down to the running. 

I want to continue with the c25k, the walking can wait and in the long term the running will benefit the walking. But in the short term I need to be more sensible. I've got three walking holidays this summer:-
7 days Hadrian's Wall 
12 days tour of the Lake District 
3 weeks hut to hut in the Austrian Alps 
So I must make sure that I allow enough recovery time between each of these.

I've also got a week's climbing in Cornwall with the mountaineering club coming up, and I've already taken myself off a 13 mile walk immediately following my return.

Today wasn't particularly enjoyable, which was a pity as the meadows of wildflowers were fabulous! ...but mostly I just followed my feet and tried to keep up :-(

The photo is of all that remains of Dale Abbey. I've walked part of the route before, including the adjacent hospital/Chapel and nearby hermits cave, but a lot of it was new to me. We also walked through Locko Park, somewhere we used to walk Jasper when we lived nearby.

My plan had been to go to the Climbing Unit tomorrow, before driving to my daughter's. I was thinking better of it, but then Angie messaged me to see if I was going and so I am! I've got nothing energetic in the diary after that until Cornwall. 

11.93 miles
1,108 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.