On Some Days

By V1k1

Yellow To Brighten A Dull Day

It has been bleak today with overcast skies and what we call a low temperature of 11c/51f.  This afternoon I took myself off to the movies in Nelson.  This is the theatre a distinctive yellow art deco building on a corner.  I thought I better blip it in case next month I change to the new cinema that has been built in Richmond.  The new one is  a modern box and not as charming looking.  It will have recliner seats, food delivered to your seat, laser projection,  blah blah but that isn't what I'm looking for in a movie experience.  I like the ticket sellers in Nelson who discuss the movie with me.  I like Stefano's Pizza, cafe and bar on the top floor.  
Today's movie was To Olivia which I now find out was made as a T.V movie in 2020.  It is the story of Roald Dahl and his wife Patricia Neal the actress who have to find their way back to each other after the devastating death of their daughter Olivia in 1962.  It is shocking to realise there was no measles vaccine then and that is what she died of.  I liked the film.

 Saturday Night At The Movies   Cynthia Weil / Barry Mann   Sung by The Drifters  
                                                    
. . .  Saturday night at the movies
Who cares what picture you see
When you're huggin' with your baby
In the last row of the balcony?

Well, there's Technicolor and Cinemascope
A cast out of Hollywood
And the popcorn from the candy stand
Makes it all seem twice as good . . . 

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.