A DERELICT MARKET BUILDING

I was out on some church business earlier this morning, and then rang Mr HCB to ask him if he would be kind enough to come and pick me up, which of course, he did.

The Swindon market, which was quite  an attractive building with a tented roof was built in 1994 to replace the old covered market, but sadly this closed in 2017. Since then, like many buildings in a lot of towns this has been left to go to rack and ruin whilst the Council decides what to do about the land on which it is situated. As you can see in my photograph, this now has a lot of graffiti on it, which extends around the whole building, so it’s becoming quite an eyesore.  You can see what it used to look like in this Blip on 20th August 2020.

I managed to get a telephone appointment with my GP this morning, and she has just rung. I told her the situation, and said that I was taking ibuprofen and paracetamol and also doing some neck exercises. I said that I had got these from YouTube and she probably didn’t want to hear that, but she said she was happy as long as I had gone to a reliable source to find out which exercises to do, there was a lot we could do to help ourselves.

Having told her that I had spent the day in bed last Thursday and noticed the pain on Friday, she said I could be right in thinking that I had Been lying in an awkward position.  She said that she could give me some stronger medication, but I said that I was not happy to take anything stronger, at the moment anyway.

She did say that this was quite a short timescale, i.e. it only came on last Friday, and these sort of things usually took 4–6 weeks to right themselves.  She said if I was still concerned and still in a lot of pain after four weeks then I should contact the surgery again and she would refer me to a physiotherapist, which can be done through her. I was happy with that.  I did ask the doctor to pass on my good wishes and thanks to the receptionists, who are all very kind and courteous and I realise that many of them get a bad press - she thanked me for saying that and said she would pass on my message to them. 

I have dictated this today, which means I don’t have to use my hands to type, which puts a strain on my neck and shoulder but apologise again, in advance for not commenting. I will try and sprinkle stars and hearts though, so please bear with me through this.

“This too shall pass.”  
A favourite quote of a dear friend, Ann David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.