Combi31

By Combi31

Collared Flycatcher

Collared Flycatcher (Ficedula albicollis), Gobemouche à collier in French.

It's not a brilliant photo, but you can see it bigger Here

I've blipped this as it is fairly rare and I have never seen one before.

A lazy morning - temperatures like November, struggling to get to 14°c but there is better to come.
It was a toss up between staying in in front of the fire or going out for a blip ... yeah, not a difficult choice really ...

I saw the purple heron again and I sat watching it fishing for frogs for a good hour, it was fascinating and didn't seem that bothered that I was within 50 meters of it.
I also noticed that they are a pair now, which probably means they will be breeding here in the ninja fish lake.

I was walking around one of the lakes as I swore I saw a flash of blue, the tell-tale sign of a kingfisher.

Rounding a clump of bushes, I heard the sound of Marvin Gaye music and the shrill cries of what could only be kingfishers - only one of these is true by the way - and there on a branch were two kingfishers, getting it on as you young and trendies say.

Unfortunately the bushes were too thick to get a shot but I now know for sure that there are kingfishers here and that there is a strong chance that they are now going to be nesting here too.

I hope you had a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.