a simple one will do

Another poetry volume I've had for some time, but never actually blipped from (keeping this up is going to be increasingly difficult!) ...

... but for now at least; here's a Samuel Pollock verse, as taken from his pictured 1989 collection:


SELF-THERAPY

Same man as any other
Damned to life's routine
I'm stung by conscience prick
By urges what will tomorrow bring
I heedless fall for everything's unexpected kick
Life's lot lays for my disaster.

Petty matters often misguide me
Look! a simple one will do
Illness harrows me on crucifixion's tree
Collects a heavy ransom for its fee
And boastful leaves its mark on my body
And it calls this deception therapy
Expects kindness on my doubtful recovery!

---

Samuel Pollock (1920 - ??)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.