Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Chilly

Today has seemed so cold that the title I've put for my entry just leaped into my mind unbidden. The wind has blown with increasing briskness all day, though it seems to have subsided now, and the temperature didn't get above 13ºc. I'd be quite prepared to feel that it is some apocalyptic change taking place were it not for posts cropping up on Facebook reminding me that it was exactly the same on this day last year, but it's certainly not my idea of May weather. 

The other day, along with the demise of our beloved Kuga, the sole came off my comfortable trainers, and today I decided to see if there was any hope of acquiring new ones in Dunoon. We used to have a shoe shop - in fact, when my boys were little there were two such shops - as well as decent shoe sections in two other shops, but today there is only the one, as a side show in a shop selling clothes and Dunoon mugs. There was nothing there that I could see myself wearing, and I came home again disgruntled. We can buy food, we can buy some clothes, and some household items; we can buy electrical and d-i-y stuff - but not shoes. 

Other than that fruitless outing I didn't go anywhere. I felt unbelievably tired again, frustrated by the things I wasn't doing. I washed the bath and basin in a sort of act of defiance, but the rest of the house has that slight look of having had a whirlwind pass through and my almost-empty suitcase is still lying in the hall. We were without our landline for several hours because of a mystery fault which seems to have been fixed remotely. And a strange thing: I left quite a sizeable reply to a comment on yesterday's post while I was making dinner tonight, so I wrote it on my phone - and it hasn't appeared on the desktop at all. Very odd.

The PM seems to be brazening it out, does he not, while not-so-dishy-any-more Rishi bribes us all with the windfall tax money that he wasn't going to levy. I feel I can't bear to look at Johnson any more without nausea.

Blipping the almost-deserted Argyll Street at midday today as yet another battering shower moves in from the north. I got wet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.