pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

In training

I was back on the train today, “ridin’ the rails once again”!

It was a good reminder of why I hadn’t missed it at all. It was piddling down with rain first thing, so I began the day a little soggy. On the journey out, the train suffered a broken windscreen and with no sign of whatever the train equivalent of Autoglass is, we were told that the train would be terminated at Crewe. Seems a terrible waste of a train just for a broken windscreen, but we departed as instructed whilst a privacy curtain was put around the carriages and a faint whimper emanated from the stricken engine.

The actual meeting went well despite my tardiness, and whilst it was close to the wire, I made it back to Birmingham New Street just in time for the return journey. The train seemed to be making good time, but then began a relentless series of announcements telling us that an object had struck the overhead power lines and was now stuck across both sides of the track and that we would be going forwards a little and then back a little bit to then go forwards a different way. I fell asleep a little way through this watching Ricky Gervais’ latest special on Netflix (it was not very good), so I had no idea what was going on, but elected to remain in my seat and see where I ended up.

I did get to catch up on the mid-series finale of Better Call Saul though and would insert a shocked face emoji here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.