Clouds After Rain

Yesterday's rainfall amounted to 2.84" leaving everywhere decidedly soggy underfoot. When I ventured out today the billowing clouds struck me and I went from one extreme to another, swapping out my 100-400 for an 8-16. I had to get down really low with the tripod legs spread and the lens inches from the rocks. I ought to use the screen, but I can't see it clearly, so instead I risked a sore neck and looked through the viewfinder.

I liked how the sun was bright above the clouds. Quite often the sun is too bright and I don't have filters to fit this lens. Getting this much sky in the image is dramatic, emphasized by the lens distortion.

Of course distortion brings its own problems which I'm now reasonably adept at resolving in Photoshop with the Transform (Warp) tool. In this case the foreground reeds and the right hand houses were affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.