An event

You may recall that when I went to my 50th college reunion - already four years ago! - the highlight was Radcliffe Day and the awarding of the Radcliffe Medal to Hillary Clinton.  I remember it vividly and treasure that experience.  Well, today was this year's Radcliffe Day and there was a Zoom presentation of the event and this year's awardee, Sherrilyn Ifill.  Unfortunately the day started at 10:30 Eastern Time, meaning it was 7:30 here in the Northwest.  I had planned to be up and at my computer by that time, but I just couldn't do it.  So I missed the first portion of the program, but was able to enjoy hearing Ms. Ifill speak about the crisis of racism in this country and the threat to democracy we are now facing. She's a wonderful speaker - articulate, organized and full of compassion - and I was very glad to have been able to watch.  I'm hoping that video of the whole event will be available on the Radcliffe Institute website soon.

So the rest of the day was an anti-climax, until I went to Lex's house for some talk and dinner.  That's where I photographed these gorgeous purple rhododendron that grow in front of the door to her house.  So the evening ended on a good note and I came home to find Sylvie under the bed, where she has been spending her time the last few days.  I don't know what that's about, as it's something she's not done in a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.