Oa it was windy!!

It was not raining so we decided to walk the Oa Nature Reserve trail.  We called at Bowmore for fresh bread and drove to the reserve.  We parked the car and I got out to make sandwiches before we set out on the walk.  It was not an easy thing to do as the strong wind was blowing things off the parel shelf where I was assembling the food.  We ate them then set off for the walk.

We walked upward the hill, battling against the strong wind. The higher we got the stronger the wind.  We couldn't walk in a straight line and it was a struggle to stay on our feet as my blip shows!

We somehow managed to get to the top and I flung myself on a rock before I was blown over. At the top we saw the American Monument in memory of 550 American soldiers lost when SS Tuscania and HMS Otranto sank in 1918.  The 20m tall memorial was constructed by the American Red cross in 1920.

I wanted to take a photo of it so F tried to hold me steady.  It was impossible and my photos are all at a jaunty angle!

The trail continued along the cliff tops but we thought it too dangerous - we didn't want to end up in the sea below.

We struggled down the hill, it was amazing how the wind was against us both ways!

We got back to the car and had a well deserved cup of tea then drove down the long track to the road doing pothole slalom as we went.
We stopped at a decommissioned phone box called Shop in the Box.  It's filled with cards and gifts and run by pupils from Port Ellen Primary School and profits go to the school, RSPB and South Islay Development Board and an honesty box for the money.  I bought a gift for my granddaughter - a make a hanging pendant set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.