Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dougal visits!

Nice to be home, actually. JR is back into her gym routine, but I didn’t go today because the weekends are usually very busy with kids. Besides, I couldnae be bothered. Though I did do my exercises, and I’m pleased to report that I did them every day in Rheims too.

It was a sunny day, though with a brisk breeze. I took a sudden notion to cut the hedge - or at least, to start cutting the hedge. JR had gone off to the supermarket, and she’s the ladder expert - no way will I perch up at the top of the ladder now, so I do the sides. I completed four sides (there are six) and JR helped me to sweep up. We’ll finish it tomorrow. I’ll tell Brian, who did it last time, that we’re not quite decrepit enough yet to get him to do it full time.

Dougal and his mum came along and were invited in because You Know Who wasn’t there. Wee Dougal is such a live wire and was very excited to be invited at last. 

Elizabeth brought Archie back at the usual time. We had his lowest-key welcome yet. He’s pretty tired after his exciting two days with his favourite person, and he’s ignored us all evening. (Extra 1) So Dougal features instead - HE was pleased to see us.

Also, as a reminder of our special bottle of vintage champagne, a photo that Hazel took in Moet’s back garden. (Extra 2)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.