Butterflies, bugs and Birds

I wanted to go and have a look if the damselflies had arrived at Havarah Park, our local small reservoir. When we were there just less than three weeks ago (7th May) the meadow was full of cuckoo flower, and the butterflies seen then were green veined whites and orange tips. Today the meadow is full of cows, perhaps they have squashed the cuckoo flower, although we see the odd one. Now the butterflies to be seen are the wall brown and small heath both in the extra. There a few small coppers, and the occasional green veined too. The blip shows a large white on a patch of dandelions, I love how clearly it shows the dandelion as the pollinators friend. 
We speak to a young man who is there for the redstart, he’s put up 7 redstart recommended bird boxes, and he points out a redstart atop the high trees, lovely to see one of these beautiful birds again after a long two years. It’s too far away for a decent photo but it’s in extras along with a reed bunting sporting a jolly good mouth full. We do find a few damselflies, the ones in the collage I’ve identified using Google lens as a stream bluet and a spearhead bluet, but I’m happy to be corrected. Also in the collage is a red eyed green lacewing (what a gorgeous little thing that is) which landed on my trousers, and a pair of crane flies making out - the green eyes are amazing. I love the macro for revealing these gems I would never otherwise see.  It’s a good morning.
In the afternoon we take part in an American Tournament at the tennis club. J wins a crate of fruit which I’m ridiculously pleased about as I partnered him in the final round to victory! Small pleasures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.