Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

The classic mountain

Today was Archaeology day which meant a lot of time messing about in caves. The morning was spent in Covalanas where there were some incredibly cave paintings and an incredibly enthusiastic guide who chunnered away in Spanish the whole time. It was great to hear the language and understand everything he said, conformation I've not forgot everything yet! In the second half of the day we went over to a cave being studied by a PhD student from Lancaster. It was a tiny hole in the ground which enlarged to go back about 100m underground. I'm not a huge fan of enclosed spaces but it was really interesting and I'm glad I manned up and ventured in. Breathing control for the win! There's a MRes position at Lancaster going up for grabs on the cave studies site but I think I might leave that, idyllic location aside! Beers at the bottom of the mountain topped off a cracking day.
In the evening we had a talk from Andy Smith, the PhD student on his research, read some journals and had some food which was awesome as always, although I really over faced myself!

Todays photo is of Natalia, a fellow geographer and PhotoSoc-er. She was my muse for the week, mainly because we spent the whole time pointing cameras at each other trying to catch us in ridiculous poses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.