Family Party No. 1

What a fun day. Hubby and I got up early. He had to be at my daughter’s by 8:00 to pick up the mac and cheese casserole she made for me. She was also having a luau birthday party for Mack today; how we hated to miss it. I gathered all my food donations and we headed to my mother’s. She has not been feeling well, was afraid she’d picked up the COVOD virus. Hubby gave her a test and it was negative, thankfully. That eased everyone’s mind. Everything was ready when the guests arrived at 2:15. What a feast we had. My niece and her family were visiting from Indiana. They are staying at our nephew’s, and his family joined us. My son and Parker came by later. Kim and her family are still quarantined due to COVID. She is recuperating, thank the Good Lord. The highlight was when our great nephew said the blessing and casually mentioned he wanted to pray for his new nephew or niece. That’s how they announced our great niece and her hubby are expecting their first child. I blipped their wedding in Indiana last year. My sister planted the annual flower garden we do for our mother. It looks great and should be easy to maintain. My cousin, who lives next door to Momma, is like the rest of us. She believes my BIL knows everything about everything. She came by to get help with her carpenter’s staplers. He’d already helped start an old piece of equipment she has earlier today. And he was able to assist again. Hubby used his free time wisely; made great progress on the puzzle we work on whenever we are down there. The party was actually a graduation celebration for our great nephew. He was thrilled we’d do that for him. We only get to see these kids about once a year. Facebook keeps us connected and they are all such well behaved and content children. We took tons of photos throughout the day. My nephew’s wife actually took the center shot with my phone. I think it shows most of the gang. It’s a shame we only had one day together. Everything was back in place when we left around 9:00 pm. An accident had closed the road we take to get home. We were able to escape the back up and take an alternate route. The kitties were happy to see us. But not as happy as I was to see the recliner. We heard no news. Thanks for stopping by. Hopefully your day was just as rewarding. “Being part of a family means smiling for photos.” - Harry Morgan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.