Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

New Souq

(29/5/22)
I spent a lot of the afternoon working in my room on my new video. I think I have finished it, but it's always a good to leave it a few hours and look at it again with fresh eyes.

Having not been out of the flat for two whole days, G reckoned it would be good to take the recylcing out and have a drive, so we set out close to sunset.

We headed North towards Sharjah. Deira Islands, to be specific. We drove around and checked out the new marina and mall. Souq al Marfa is a newly built souq that covers a vast area. Only a small section is open at the moment. It felt like Dragon Mart with an electric mix of stores, some offering wholesale. There was even a food court and kids play area! The best thing is that it backs on to an outdoor space with a marina and views of the new dhow wharfage. It is also air-conditioned, so Diane and I can check it out one morning. We will have no trouble getting the steps in!

We should have come straight home, but our friend, Farzan, got in touch asking if we had time for a cup of tea. Two and a half hours later, we left her flat and got home collecting a falafel sandwich for dinner. I didn't even have the energy to get back to my video!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.