Sue

I read the whole Sue Gray report and I’m not sure why I bothered. It didn’t generate any additional conclusions to what we all already know. Which is namely that Boris Johnson engineers and presides over a cabal of entitled, disingenuous and dishonest officials who lack integrity in their words and actions.

I have much less of an issue with the fact he raised a glass one metre away from a colleague at a leaving do at the end of a working day. This is stupid, but what really bothers me is the barefaced bumbling and lying in parliament, the mock outrage, manufactured culture wars to put the attention back on the opposition, and the brainless trotting out of senior cabinet members in the British media, fabricating literal bollocks when asked straightforward questions.

I look forward to regime overhaul but I’m probably assuming the UK electorate is both less progressive and less engaged than would be necessary for a significant shift.

At the hotel (garden pictured) where I’m lodging at the moment there is a friendly chap who has a front-of-house-cum-security kind of role. Every time I see him we have an exchange that goes like this:

Him: Good morning / evening [select appropriate option]. How are you?

Me: I’m fine thanks. And you?

Him: I’m fine. Are you ok?

Me: Yes I’m ok thanks.

Him: Are you alright?

Me: Yes I’m alright.


It’s nothing if not friendly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.