Take the wheel

I have been listening in to a weeklong series of meetings taking place in Mozambique. When I am simply tuning in whilst I do other work, and not actively participating, this creates the same effect as a busy office does, i.e. boosts productivity. It reminds me too that it’s important to remain outward-facing in the conservation world and that through strong partnerships we can achieve more than in siloed projects. I’ll find ways to replicate this sensation when I find myself working on my tod again, as when I do that for protracted periods I perceive a gradual decrease in mood and effectiveness.

I went on a lunchtime walk with Elizabeth, on some of Cambridge’s leafier streets. She’s a godsend, that woman. We saw the new (ferris?) wheel on Parker’s Piece. I have heard some Cambridge purists trash talk the wheel, presumably because it acts as an eyesore and ‘attracts the wrong sort.’ I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve witnessed anti-social behaviour on Parker’s Piece in times of no wheel. If people can fight and go wild on a square patch of grass, I’m not sure a sedate ride is going to be the thing that sullies the city’s fine name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.