stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Sticks

"So come fill up your glasses
of brandy and wine
Whatever it costs I will pay
So be easy and free
when you're drinking with me"


I've always used my blipday entries to say a thank you to everyone for dropping by and today will be no different. Except it will.

It's fair to say that for me the journey from 365 to 500 has not been smooth. In fact, on more than one occasion I've wondered if I'd ever reach this destination at all. For a variety of reasons I lost my enthusiasm. Never my love of this art but just the thought that I was doing it... right! For a while I've struggled to see my images as anything more than average snapshots in a blipworld full of wonder. I've not found it easy to accept the fact that I'm not always going to have time to comment on all your journals and that makes me feel guilty. And I've said goodbye to some old blip pals.

And yet I've also said hello to new pals and even welcomed some back to the fold. Every journal I visit is a daily inspiration. Blip is a living, breathing thing that waits for no one. It is made so by the beautiful souls that embody this wonderful little community. All of you!

Thanks to everyone who has visited my journal in the past 500 blips. For all the silent views, the comments, stars and hearts, I'll always be grateful. But I dedicate this entry to a small band of special blippers. To those of you who have stuck with me though my erratic posting (and even more erratic commenting), who have never failed to view my journal and offer words of encouragement and support, I raise my glass to you! You are the reason I'm still here...

I guess it's fitting that this rocky road to 500 blips ends with another disappointment. After making an arse of the opening dates and missing out previously I decided to go back and visit Lochleven Castle. It was a lovely sunny day as I drove up the road to Kinross. There was even some warmth in the air. The ferry was pulling into the jetty as I arrived. Perfect timing! Alas, it was to be the last ferry. The wind meant that crossings to the island were suspended. It was to be a second fruitless visit. So instead of the castle, it was another wander around the Kinross Estate. I decided to pile up 500 sticks for my blip*.

If you made it this far, thanks (and sorry)! And so it's onwards and upwards. I need to regain some focus. Hopefully the journey to 730 will be easier!

* I didn't really. They were like that already... Like you didn't know!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.