stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Wanted: New Toy

Ever had a day where no matter what you do, nobody believes a word you say?

I had one of those today. In spite of doing a full investigation and providing conclusive evidence that our system was not responsible for a problem, I had to deal with three separate people who still weren't convinced. Four additional phone calls, three emails, two additional investigations to provide more corroborating evidence and a meeting in person later, they say they understood. I'm still not convinced, but there is nothing more I can do to convince them and won't be entertaining any more questions on the subject tomorrow.

I saw this blip this morning and it made me smile because it reminded me exactly how I feel about the sea. I sometimes forget how close I am to it and the joy it brings. While I was driving home I remembered it again and so I forced myself to take the camera down to Portobello after I got in.

As I wandered along the sand with the wind blowing in my face and the only sound in the air, the sound of the waves lapping against the shore, I felt the frustration of the day leave me. I stood and watched the tide come in. I watched as the rippling surface approached the land in sheets driven by the wind and the current. They lapped against each other until the shallows began to take effect, then forming gentle white horses they rose against the rising sand beneath. Not enough tonight to crash, but gently simmer and fade as they encroached further inland.

I was calmed!

Sorry, it's late again. Will catch up tomorrow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.