Tadpoleview

By tadpoleview

One Horse Power Train!

Seen on Weston-Super-Mare beach late this afternoon was this 1 hp railway engine! Not your usual train! But then W-S-M is not your usual seaside place.

In our house we often rename it substituting 'Mud' for the last part of its name because the lower part of the beach is literally mud at low tide, and we never seem to arrive there when the tide is in. But it is a place with massive wide sands for children and adults alike to enjoy, especially when like today the sun is out and (provided you are dressed for it) its reasonably warm.

While Anne was at a conference today I spent part of the time on the beach at Sidmouth in Devon, we only called in at W-S-M for a break on the journey back. Two places of such vast contrast, although both seaside holiday resorts, and both popular. One has wide sandy beaches, the other a stone beach, with cliffs behind it. Which do I prefer? I think my answer to that would have to depend on my reason for visiting, and the company I was with.

I'm really glad though to have such variety to chose from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.