Ride London

The annual event route passes my house this year so I decided to gatecrash. As I looked out of my window at 7am groups of cyclists were flashing past. I got my bike out and seamlessly joined the throng. It was a novelty pedaling along main roads with no traffic. 

The countryside beyond Ongar took on a new beauty from a perspective where you could admire it and not have to worry about vehicles.In fact these roads are so busy that I would never normally cycle along them.

It was quite a gala and, although I only did a 35 mile loop because I didn’t want to abuse the hospitality, I popped out later to take some pictures of one of the pit stops just round the corner.

Previous years have seen it pass through Surrey. Don’t know where it will be next year. It certainly took a lot of organisation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.