Earache MyEyeInA Nutshell

By RichPaula

Music Exchange

Today was Record Store Day, which is an initiative to get people into independent record shops. We blipped about this last year when we bought some records from a shop-cum-gallery in a swish area of Chelsea (well, all of Chelsea's swish, I guess). A bit different this year, I went to a shop which is run as a not for profit business by a charity in a bohemian part of Nottingham. It was incredibly small but the staff were friendly and helpful. DJs and live music were the order of the day.
My booty comprised a Frankie Goes to Hollywood shaped picture disc, 7" singles by ELP and Hawkwind, a 10" EP by hot young rockers Rival Sons and an Earache Records sampler which bills itself as 'the shortest album ever'. I can believe it as it clocks in at a total of 83 seconds over two sides. Earache Records are based in Nottingham so it seemed quite fitting that I made that particular purchase.
I didn't get what I really wanted but hey, it's the early bird and all that.
So, happy Record Store Day and I'll see you in the queue next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.