Gardening in the rain!

It rained practically the whole day so there was nothing for it other than to don my raincoat and get on with it! Definitely not as pleasing as gardening in the sunshine but needs must. I planted out some flowers I have been growing in the greenhouse. They had got far too large for their pots and the roots were so tightly crammed, so into the ground they went. My sweet peas also went into my large tub after removing all the daffodil leaves which were looking very unsightly. I scattered some wild flower seeds as the conditions were quite favourable for that task. I've checked all my courgette plants that I put out yesterday and they seem quite happy in their new habitat, one is flowering. Now it's up to nature not to treat them too harshly and give them what they need to grow, maybe a little feed from me too! I didn't spend so many hours outdoors today as it was quite miserable at times. 
I had a call from the GP surgery to see if I could attend the 'joint injection' clinic for my thumb. The trigger thumb has been quite a lot better but they insisted I went along anyway even if I don't still need the injection. On Wednesday I have another appointment with the nurse to have my annual check up. No doctors appointments then they come along at once!
I had the sad news this evening that the husband of one of my friends in the village passed away this afternoon. He has been in hospital for a few weeks, taken in with Covid but also with an ongoing heart and lung problem. She knew he wasn't going to make it back home but it's still such a shock when it finally happens. It's her 70th birthday on Saturday and her family and friends had planned a surprise celebration at the hall. I'm not sure if this will still go ahead. I am making a cake for it which I'll still make and if it doesn't happen I'll give her the cake to share with her family. We can never be sure what's round the corner so we should make the most of what we have  until we reach that corner. Life is for living and loving in whatever way we can.
"Peace begins with a smile" Mother Teresa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.