A Blast from the past…

…came to light in a partial "sort out".  I can no longer remember when the Fire Station was reduced from shifts to "Day Manning", a system where we were on duty 09:00 --->18:00 and on call, with the Retained lads from 18:00--->09:00.
I seem to remember Chiefie got a medal, either for that OR the above.

"The above" was totally closing it as whole-time, dispatching "us" to one of three "fates":-
1. Early retirement. One I think, stayed on as a kind of Caretaker for his last few weeks/months
2. Carlisle Station, where some of us went.
3. Kendal Station, where the rest went.
We had a Social Club, and Bar, on Station and the above was taken at the last ever time it saw use.

I suppose, now it's not "Past & Present" so much as "Past & Paster".  A whole-time  Fireman's working life being 25 yrs and this was taken 31 years ago the whole-time lads will all be retired though I know the odd "Womble" is still in harness; or was until very recently.

I also know that at least 12, if not a full Baker's dozen are no longer with us.
I managed between 23 and 24 yrs service before my knees gave up, which means I've been retired longer than I served (26 yrs, though can't recall the months). NOT unusual for any whole-timer. 

I admit I had trouble finding me on it.

I wonder if the current Chief got a medal for returning the Station back to "Day-manning" again? AND if it'll ever go back to whole-time?
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *  ~ * ~ * ~ *

Extra - for those still wondering - hacked about & fiddled with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.