KathyH58

By KathyH58

May 30

This is a yellow rhododendron in my garden today, but it does not show up well in photos.
I have been doing some telephone interviews today, trying to find 1 or 2 new workers. I did 4 interviews this afternoon and not one of them has their own transportation. I am going to give one guy a trial day tomorrow and one woman a trial day on Monday. If I am going to have someone travelling in the truck with me, I want to make sure they are going to be compatible with the rest of the team.
I had one guy for a trial today and I told him to leave early. Between not being able to follow my instructions and sitting down every chance he had, I was not going to put up with that for long. After I let him go, he sent me a text saying he was not focussed today and that he has a disability. Maybe he does have ADD, or maybe he is just lazy, I don't know. Or it might be a combination of the two. But I don't have the time or the patience to deal with either. Before I let the guy go early, Joel, my other worker, asked me if the guy was coming back tomorrow. I told him 'NO'. Joel is one of my keepers this year. I told him today, that if he wants some extra hours any time, I can put him on some jobs spreading soil or mulch. That says what kind of worker he is, that 5 weeks on the job and I am willing to leave him alone on some jobs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.