Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Birthday Boy!

I’ve been camping near Bath this weekend. The main reason I’m here is because one of my precious Great-Nephews had his second birthday party today! This is Elijah and his dad Tim - my nephew. The party was held in the garden of a friend’s house in a village outside of Bath - with the village church just next door. It was a beautiful setting and a warm sunny day for it. There was a golf theme for the party - Daddy is a keen golfer so I’m sure Elijah is being encouraged to follow in his footsteps!

My sister also surprised me with a belated bag of birthday gifts (and silly hats!). My birthday was two months ago but we’ve not seen each other since early in the year (for HER birthday!). Covid got in the way when I got it on my birthday (!), and then she got it some weeks later.

The other adorable little boy is Toby - Elijah’s cousin and my other Great-Nephew.

In other news:
This morning my good friends Vanessa and Richard came to spend the morning with me on the campsite. They live about 15 minutes away and it was great to see them! See the Extra photo for the amazing bread Vanessa baked for me this morning! It’s an Austrian recipe and filled with loads of mincemeat. There was a ‘coffee bar’ on-site (see second Extra photo) so we got a couple of rounds from there and very good coffee it was, too! We had lots to talk about and we enjoyed a long visit over coffee and cake!

Needless to say - after all that cake, morning and afternoon - I had a very light supper when I got back to the campsite in the evening. I sat outside and enjoyed the sunset as long as I could (see third Extra photo). But heavy rain came later in the evening. I was cosy in the van though - watching Eurovision, which is a rare thing for me to do. I was very happy for both the U.K. and for Ukraine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.